Australian Cyber Security Professionalisation program


AustCyber is leading an industry co-design team to create the Australian Cyber Security Professionalisation Program (ACSP) with key stakeholders, including universities, TAFEs, cyber security experts and industry associations.

ACSP is a critical step in professionalising the cyber security industry in Australia to global standards, with the intent of being a world leader and improving trust and confidence in Australian cyber security professionals. 

Together we are collaborating, sharing, and co-creating. We’re leveraging human centred design methodology and using a co-design framework.

Today the cyber security industry in Australia is fragmented, with no clear career pathways for those that have aspirations to work in the sector.

ACSP is designed to give current and future cyber security employees something tangible to aspire to in terms of professional recognition, as well as improving employers’ trust when hiring cyber security professionals. 

Purpose of the co-design team

The purpose of the co-design team is to design and develop solutions to improve government, business and community trust and confidence in Australian cyber security professionals, to ultimately grow the ecosystem in a sustainable way. The team will focus on the role of cyber security career and education pathways, approaches to professional recognition, and consistency of role definitions. 

Current status

We are in our infant stage, establishing the co-design team, engaging with key stakeholders and learning from employees and employers through qualitative research. 

And this is just the beginning. 

We will design. Test. Optimise. Re-design. Test again. 

We are committed to ensuring that what is developed as part of this Program meets the needs of cyber security employees and employers as well as the broader ecosystem. 

Who is involved?

RMIT university logo

Professor Matt Warren

Centre for Cyber Security Research & Innovation Director

TAFEcyber logo

Jo Cave

General Manager, TAFECyber

ISC2 logo

Professor Jill Slay

Vice Chairperson of the Board

ISACA logo

Jo Stewart-Rattray

Former Global Board Director, Oceania Regional Ambassador


ACS logo

Rupert Grayston

Director Capability


kordamentha logo

Tony Vizza

Executive Director Cybersecurity


aiia logo

Rachel Bailes

Head of Policy


austcyber logo

Kathleen Moorby

Director, Programs

Frequently asked questions